Lap Learning Lesson – O is for Ocean 3 yr old style

Exploration time: ABC flip book

(Each boy has an ABC book with pictures of his choosing to represent each letter.  I use these to identify the letter and it’s sound.  For this page he would say, “L, lllll, Lightning”)

We began our O study with oceans today.  We read/sang the following song to begin our day.


(sung to “Take Me Out to the Ball Game”)

Take me out to the ocean, Take me out to the sea,

Show me the foamy waves rolling there,

As I breathe in the salty sea air!

Let me look, look, look at the ocean,

See the sea and explore,

For it’s fun to dive from the top

To the ocean floor!

Take me out to the ocean, Take me out to the sea.

Show me the currents and ocean tides,

Let me see where the seaweed resides!

When you look, look, look at the ocean,

Look at all it is worth!

For the ocean covers three-fourths of the entire earth!

by Meish Goldish101 Science Poems & Songs for Young Learners,

Instructor Books

Then we painted an ocean using blue paint and glitter.  We saw this idea  @ No Time For Flashcards but instead of adding fish we added an octopus.   On her letter crafts, Allie made an octopus using the letter O so we did too.   We tweaked ours a bit.   We started by having R2 trace lids to make Os on his purple construction paper.

I saw this lid tracing at Pocketful of Posies.  I then had him choose his best O and we cut it out to make it our octopus.  I folded it in half and cut a circle out of the middle.  Then I drew short thin lines on the purple paper and which R2 cut out. We counted to make sure we had 8 lines, these would be our tentacles, and then I folded each one like an accordion.   He glued on google eyes and the 8 tentacles to the bottom to make the finished octopus.  Then we glued him to our painted ocean.  I think it turned out great!  I love the varied textures.

We then went on to make an ocean in a bottle.  I saw the directions on Kaboose.   He liked making the ocean and adding the sequins.

I am never pleased with how our oceans in a bottle turn out.  We’ve done it before and the finished product is never what I am going for.  If you have tips, I’d love to hear them.

As R2 was making his octopus and ocean, R3 was playing in his own “ocean”.  I filled a small clear bin with our ocean animal bath toys and about an inch of water and let him just play.

After we were all finished we read, Clumsy Crab by Ruth Galloway.  This is a sweet story of friends helping each other.  The octopus finds himself in quite a mess but lucky for him he has a crab as a friend.

Here’s another ocean craft we have done in the past:

Ocean diorama – idea from Kids Craft Weekly

Leave a Reply

